Our team

Meet the team of passionate people driving beyond zero emissions


Geoff Summerhayes


Geoff Summerhayes is a global leader in climate change financial risk regulation. He has a unique set of commercial and regulatory skills as a former CEO and APRA Board Member. Geoff is also Chair of Zurich Australia and New Zealand, Director of Heartland Group Holdings New Zealand, Senior Advisor at Pollination Group, and Chair of AICD’s Climate Governance Initiative. He was previously Chair of the UN Environment’s Sustainable Insurance Forum.

Elisa de Wit

Board Member

Elisa de Wit is a Partner at Norton Rose Fulbright and heads the firm’s climate change and sustainability practice. She is one of Australia’s preeminent climate change lawyers and advises clients on policy, regulation and compliance issues. Elisa is the former Chair of the Carbon Market Institute and a Director of Grampians Wimmera Mallee Water Corporation. Elisa has been a Non-Executive Director of Beyond Zero Emissions since 2017.

Phil Vernon


Phil Vernon has more than 30 years of experience in financial services, including 10 years as Managing Director and Chief Executive of Australian Ethical Investment. He is a Director at both the Environmental Defender’s Office and the Planet Ark Environmental Foundation, a consultant to the Board of Futurity Investment Group, and a member of the Steering Committee for the Australian Sustainable Finance Initiative. Phil has been a Non-Executive Director of Beyond Zero Emissions since 2014.

Susheela Peres da Costa

Board Member

Susheela is the Principal at the Stewardship Centre. Since 2006, she has advised on stewardship strategy for large capital pools; including pension funds, wealth advisers, asset managers, and foundations; and for responsible investment organisations such Principles for Responsible Investment. She serves on the boards of The Nature Conservation Council of NSW and The Shareholder Commons (USA); on the advisory committees of InfluenceMap (UK) and The Association of Stewardship Professionals (Germany); and on the Investment Committee of The Reichstein Foundation. She served as chair and deputy car of the Responsible Investment Association of Australasia from 2012 to 2022. Susheela has been a Non-Executive Director of Beyond Zero Emissions since 2022.

Cristina Talacko

Board Member

Cristina has more than 20 years of experience in executive boards and management of not-for-profit associations. She is a director on the board of the Export Council of Australia, DFAT Council on Australia Latin America Relations and Multicultural NSW. She is also a director on various energy and renewables boards such as the Advisory Committee of Endeavour Energy and the Advisory Board of Viridios Capital, an asset management and advisor on sustainable development assets. Cristina is an entrepreneur having founded SalDoce Fine Foods, manufacturing allergen sensitive foods to Australia and export markets and was the winner of the NSW Export Awards in 2016 and 2018 and the 2019 and 2021 NSW Small Business Award.

Dr Anne Hellstedt

Board Member

Dr Anne Hellstedt is an engineering executive with experience across a broad range of sectors, including consulting, development and academia. Anne is Technical Excellence Leader and member of the Australian executive management team at Mott MacDonald. She is the Chair of Engineers Australia’s College of Leadership and Management Board and a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Anne has been a Non-Executive Director of Beyond Zero Emissions since 2018.

Join the team

If you're interested in working for us, get in touch or keep an eye out for roles as they're posted.

Find out more